Tank top Simplicity 1253

Spring is finally here in New England.  I went through my closet and realized that I need a few more tops. I took out pattern Simplicity 1253 and a few silk fabrics from my stash and made this tank top.

For pattern changes, I skipped the neck band. Even  without neck band  this top is still very `moderate`. I cut size 8 overall. I feel the shoulder and arm are a little tight. Next time I will cut size 10 for the top half and size 10 for button half.

Due to the  small size of my fashion fabric, I  shortened the top a lot. It turned out great. I am  5’3′, I like my top to be short to give the impression of longer legs.

I used a piece of  remnants silk in my stash. It is about half yard long. It is very soft and comfortable and drape well. I absolutely love the feel of it. I used microtex needle for my sewing machine and normal needle for serger. The fabric is not hard to sew at all.

I used light weight cotton from my stash for lining. It still feels stiff compare with the outside fashion fabric. Next time I will used sheer silk or cotton viol for lining.

mmexport1493907979065mmexport1493907982428

 

 

 

For future make:

Next time I will continue skipping the neck band. The neck is moderate even without the neck band. The  shoulder/back and arm is a little tight. Next time I will cut size 10 for neck /shoulder/arm and size 8 for below arm.

Lining feels and look so much better than facing. I will use lining any time a facing is needed.  I used a thin cotton fabric as lining however compare with out outside silk fabric the lining is still a little stiff. Next time I will use silk Georgette or cotton voil as lining.

I’d to modify the pattern to have bigger neck scoop. I will try that next time.

Have a nice day.

Best

 

发表评论

