Simplicity S1716 two fast makes​ for the hot summer

I had this very light weight knits fabric for a while. It is from silk remnant part of fabric store. One side of the fabric is dark blue, the other is coated golden color. 

I wanted to make myself a knit dress using McCall’s​ 6886. M6886 a very quick make. I was able to finish most of it within one hour or so. However as soon as I whipped it up,  I realized the fabric is way too lightweight for a dress. All my bulges showed. Instead of throwing it into my ‘failed’ bin, I took out my favorite pattern S1716 immediately and started cutting the dress into pieces. I also have some leftover fabric so I made not one, but two tops.

I have made this top several times before. It is such a quick top to make, I was able to make two within a few hours. I didn’t like neck or arm bands so I just serged the edges and turned over twice. They are perfect for a few hot summer months in New England.


发表评论

