First swimsuit

I made my first swimsuit. The fabrics and lining are from Joanne’s swimwear fabrics. It is a little thin.

Pattern is jalie racer back swimsuit pattern.

What I learned:

I love this style swimsuit. It looks nice for serious swimmers.

Size:

1. I made size U, I need to size up one size if I use this fabric. It is quite tight.

Pattern changes:

2. I need to add bust cups in the lining. Jalie tank swimsuit has instructions on how to add bust cups.

3. Based on reviews, I added 2 inches on the leg rise.

4. I want to raise the back bottom curve 1.5 inches up.

Fabrics:

1. JoAnn fabrics swimwear fabrics are little thin. I want to look for slightly heavier swimwear fabrics.

2. JoAnn ‘s fabric swimwear lining fabric is good.

3. The clear elastic I used is not very stretchy. I actually am ok with not stretchy.

4, very important, I need to use patterned fabrics,  plain fabric shows way too many bumps, not good for me. The fabrics I got can be used as accent pieces

Construction:

1. The front piece after I finished construction I created a pattern for the whole front, and used that to cut out the lining.

2. I followed the directions. It is quite simple. Next time I will try to conceal as much seams into lining as possible.

3. I will try the folder over elastics to see whether it is easier. FOE definitely are more stretchy and softer than my clear elastic.

This is a great first swimwear experience. Though I won’t wear it, I definitely learned a lot and am ready for my second try.

留下评论